Sunday, April 13, 2014

Where is same-sex marriage legal?

Here is the answer as of April 13, 2014:

Same-sex marriage is legal in the Netherlands (2001), Belgium (2003), Canada (2005), Spain (2005), South Africa (2006), Norway (2009), Sweden (2009), Argentina (2010), Iceland (2010), Portugal (2010), Denmark (2012), France (2013), Brazil (2013), Uruguay (2013), New Zealand (2013), England and Wales (2014) and Scotland (starting this fall).

Same-sex marriages also have taken place on the Caribbean islands of Saba, a municipality of the Netherlands (2012), and Martinique, an overseas region of France (2013).

In Mexico, same-sex marriage is available in the Federal District (Mexico City) and -- for some couples who filed legal cases -- in the states of Chihuahua, Oaxaca, Jalisco, Quintana Roo and Yucat√°n. The marriages are recognized nationwide by Supreme Court order. Mexico has 31 states.

In Colombia, a handful of same-sex couples have managed to get married since September 2013, but the situation remains fluid. Latest here.

In Australia, same-sex couples were able to marry in the Australian Capital Territory from Dec. 7, 2013, to Dec. 12, 2013, under a special "same-sex marriage" law the territory enacted. On Dec. 12, Australia's High Court invalidated the law and the marriages, pointing out that marriage is a matter of federal law in Australia.

In the United States, same-sex marriage is legal in Massachusetts (2004), California (2008 for four months, then 2013 for good), Connecticut (2008), Vermont (2009), Iowa (2009), New Hampshire (2010), Washington, D.C. (2010), New York (2011), Maine (2012), Maryland (2012), Washington (2012), Delaware (2013), Rhode Island (2013), Minnesota (2013),  New Jersey (2013), Hawaii (2013), New Mexico (2013), Utah (2013; temporarily suspended Jan. 6, 2014) and Illinois (2014; at least 16 counties at present, including Cook County, where Chicago is, then everywhere come June 1). The U.S. has 50 states. Illinois has 102 counties.

It also is legal within the Coquille Indian Tribe in Oregon (2009), The Suquamish Tribe in Washington state (2011), the Little Traverse Bay Bands of Odawa Indians in Michigan (2013), The Confederated Tribes of the Colville Reservation in Washington state (2013), the Pokagon Band of Potawatomi Indians in Michigan (2013), the Iipay Nation of Santa Ysabel in California (2013), the Cheyenne and Arapaho Tribes in Oklahoma (2013) and the Leech Lake Band of Ojibwe in Minnesota (2013).

In Oregon, while same-sex couples cannot marry there, gay couples who get married anywhere else in the world -- including the bordering states of Washington and California -- are recognized by the state as fully married. Kentucky recognized same-sex marriages that took place outside the state for two days in February 2014, until a federal judge stayed his order.

Bans on same-sex marriage in Michigan, Oklahoma, Texas and Virginia have been struck down by federal judges, but the rulings were stayed while they are on appeal to federal courts of appeal. Three hundred fifteen same-sex couples married in four Michigan counties on Saturday, March 22, 2014, before the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit issued a stay. Similarly, in Utah, 1,243 same-sex couples married over 18 days prior to the U.S. Supreme Court's staying a Salt Lake City's federal judge's strikedown of the state's gay-marriage ban.

Lawsuits to overturn bans on same-sex marriage and/or force recognition of same-sex marriages that took place elsewhere also are ongoing in Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Idaho, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Nevada, North Carolina, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, West Virginia, Wisconsin and Wyoming.

In U.S. states that do not allow or recognize same-sex marriage, married same-sex couples who live there are still recognized as married for many federal purposes, including income tax, immigration, military benefits and likely scores of other matters that always have been tied to whether a couple entered into a legal marriage anywhere in the world rather than to a state's marriage rules.

Wednesday, November 20, 2013

Illinois governor signs marriage-equality bill into law

Sitting at the desk on which Abraham Lincoln wrote his first inaugural address, Illinois Gov. Pat Quinn today signed the marriage-equality bill into law. When the law comes into force, Illinois will be the 16th U.S. state (along with D.C.) where same-sex couples can marry. [Screen cap: live feed]
Photo by Hal Baim/Windy City Times

Tuesday, November 12, 2013

Marriage equality arrives in Hawaii

The bill legalizing same-sex marriage has just cleared the Hawaii Legislature and is en route to strong supporter Gov. Neil Abercrombie. The final Senate vote was 19-4. Abercrombie will sign the bill tomorrow morning (Nov. 13) at 10 a.m. HST. Same-sex couples should be able to marry beginning Dec. 2.

Tuesday, November 05, 2013

Marriage equality: Illinois is state #15

Illinois today became the 15th U.S. state with marriage equality. The bill passed the House of Representatives 61-54 -- one vote more than needed.

The measure already passed the Senate (which had to pass it again today because the effective date was changed to reduce the number of votes required for House passage during a "veto session") and Gov. Pat Quinn is enthusiastically waiting to sign it.

The first marriages will take place June 1, 2014.

U.S. states have achieved marriage equality through a combination of court rulings, legislative passage, and voter referendums (in three states). The U.S. is the only country where same-sex marriage ever has passed by a vote of the people.

Where all in the world is same-sex marriage legal? The list is here.

Saturday, July 13, 2013

San Diego LGBT Pride today

Saturday, June 29, 2013

Prop 8 dies, plaintiff couples marry

Prop 8 federal case plaintiffs Kris Perry and Sandy Stier were married yesterday afternoon at San Francisco City Hall by California Attorney General Kamala Harris. Plaintiffs Paul Katami and Jeff Zarrillo were married last evening (video) at Los Angeles City Hall by Mayor Antontio Villaraigosa.

Thursday, June 27, 2013

Gays march through San Diego as Prop 8 dies

More than 1,000 people took to the streets of San Diego Tuesday evening in celebration of the demise of Prop 8 and DOMA. The impromptu march closed down about seven blocks of major thoroughfare University Avenue in the heavily gay Hillcrest district. The peaceful crowd eventually crammed itself into the LGBT Community Center for drinks, hors d'oeuvres and more partying.

Wednesday, June 26, 2013

As Prop 8 dies, POTUS calls Chad and MSNBC catches it live

Monday, May 13, 2013

Minnesota passes marriage equality

The Minnesota Senate has just voted to legalize same-sex marriage. The vote was 37-30. This was the final vote in Minnesota, which will become the 12th U.S. state where same-sex couples can marry. Gov. Mark Dayton will sign the bill into law tomorrow at 5 p.m. It will take effect Aug. 1.

Tuesday, May 07, 2013

Marriage equality passes in Delaware, Gov. Markell signs immediately

This is U.S. state #11 (plus D.C.) Delawarean same-sex couples can obtain marriage licenses starting July 1.