Tuesday, August 22, 2017

Marriage equality around the world

Article maintained with help from Evan Wolfson and Rob Salerno - Last update: Aug. 22, 2017
Same-sex couples can marry in 22 nations and in 38 other jurisdictions around the world:
• Netherlands (2001), Saba (2012), Bonaire (2013), Sint Eustatius
• Belgium (2003)
• Canada (2003-2005)
• USA (2004-2015), Guam (2015), Northern Mariana Islands (2015), Puerto Rico (2015), U.S. Virgin Islands (2015)
• Spain (2005), Canary Islands (2005), Ceuta (2005), Melilla (2005)
• South Africa (2006)
• Norway (2009)
• Sweden (2009)
• Argentina (2010)
• Iceland (2010)
• Portugal (2010), Azores (2010), Madeira (2010)
• Mexico (2010-2017; full article here)
• Denmark (2012), Greenland (2016), Faroe Islands (2017)
• France (2013), French Guiana (2013), French Polynesia (2013), Guadeloupe (2013), Martinique (2013), Mayotte (2013), New Caledonia (2013), Réunion (2013), Saint Barthélemy (2013), Saint Martin (2013), Saint Pierre and Miquelon (2013), Wallis and Futuna (2013)
• Brazil (2013)
• Uruguay (2013)
• New Zealand (2013)
• England and Wales (2014), Akrotiri and Dhekelia (2014), British Indian Ocean Territory (2014, 2015), Scotland (2014), Pitcairn Islands (2015), Ascension Island (2016), Isle of Man (2016), British Antarctic Territory (2016), Gibraltar (2016), Guernsey (2017), Falkland Islands (2017), Bermuda (2017), Tristan da Cunha (2017)
• Luxembourg (2015)
• Ireland (2015)
• Colombia (2016)
• Finland (2017)
Coming soon
• Marriage equality passed the German Bundestag by a vote of 393-226 on June 30, 2017. It should come into force by Oct. 1.
• Malta MPs passed marriage equality by a vote of 66-1 on July 12, 2017. The law will come into force this year.
Dutch Caribbean: As with Bonaire and Saba, same-sex marriage should be available in the Dutch municipality of Sint Eustatius but there's no indication one has occurred. Same-sex marriage is not allowed in the Dutch constituent countries of Aruba, Curaçao and Sint Maarten, though Dutch marriages from elsewhere are partially recognized.
Mexico: Mexican states (there are 31) are a current hotspot of the marriage-equality movement. To date, 12 states have achived full marriage equality via three different pathways. My full article is here.
French places: In the France list above, links go to proof of a same-sex couple marrying in nine of the 11 overseas departments and collectivities. In the remaining two (Saint Barthélemy, Wallis and Futuna), same-sex marriage is legal but there's no indication one has occurred.
British places: See above for the list of British places that have marriage equality. These British overseas territories and one crown dependency do not yet have marriage equality: Anguilla, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Jersey, Montserrat, Saint Helena, South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands, Turks and Caicos Islands. Neither do Alderney and Sark, which are part of the Bailiwick of Guernsey.
Ireland: On May 22, 2015, Ireland became the first nation to legalize same-sex marriage by popular vote. Irish people amended their constitution to bring in marriage equality by a landslide margin of 62.07% to 37.93%.
U.S. territories: Four of the five U.S. territories — Guam, Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico, U.S. Virgin Islands — were covered by the U.S. Supreme Court's nationwide marriage-equality ruling on June 26, 2015. American Samoa was not.
(The United States Minor Outlying Islands -- Baker Island, Howland Island, Jarvis Island, Johnston Atoll, Kingman Reef, Midway Atoll, Palmyra Atoll and Wake Island in the Pacific Ocean, and Navassa Island in the Carribean Sea -- would have marriage equality. Their only population nowadays is a small number of temporarily assigned scientists and military personnel.)
Antarctica: Marriage equality exists in much of Antarctica, given the nations that claim portions of the continent as national territory: Argentina, Australia, Chile, France, New Zealand, Norway, United Kingdom. Take mittens.
On the high seas: For a price, you can now marry a same-sex partner at sea on ships of Princess Cruises, P&O Cruises and Cunard Line, courtesy of the Bermuda Supreme Court's May 2017 marriage-equality ruling. Bon voyage.
Taiwan: The Constitutional Court declared the ban on same-sex marriage unconstitutional on May 24, 2017, and gave the legislature no more than two years to change laws. If it doesn't, marriage equality arrives automatically.
U.S. Indian tribes: There are 566 of them, and they are not covered by the June 26, 2015, U.S. Supreme Court ruling that legalized same-sex marriage nationwide. At least 21 tribes, listed below, have legalized same-sex marriage to date. A number of others follow the marriage law of the state in which they are located, meaning same-sex marriage is legal within the tribe without any additional tribal action.
Coquille Indian Tribe in Oregon (2009)
• Mashantucket (Western) Pequot Tribal Nation in Connecticut (2010)
• Suquamish Tribe in Washington (2011)
• Port Gamble S'Klallam Tribe in Washington (2012)
• Little Traverse Bay Bands of Odawa Indians in Michigan (2013)
• Confederated Tribes of the Colville Reservation in Washington (2013)
• Pokagon Band of Potawatomi Indians in Michigan (2013)
• Iipay Nation of Santa Ysabel in California (2013)
• Cheyenne and Arapaho Tribes in Oklahoma (2013)
• Leech Lake Band of Ojibwe in Minnesota (2013)
• Puyallup Tribe of Indians in Washington (2014)
• Eastern Shoshone Tribe and Northern Arapaho Tribe in Wyoming (2014)
• Tlingit and Haida Indian Tribes in Alaska (2015)
• Oneida Tribe in Wisconsin (2015)
• Keweenaw Bay Indian Community in Michigan (2015)
• Confederated Tribes of Siletz Indians in Oregon (2015)
• Confederated Tribes of Grand Ronde in Oregon (2015)
• Oglala Sioux Tribe in South Dakota (2016)
• Cherokee Nation in Oklahoma (2016)
• Osage Nation in Oklahoma (2017)
• Ho-Chunk Nation in Wisconsin (2017)
Geography lesson: Where are those 38 other jurisdictions of Denmark, France, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, UK and USA?
• Faroe Islands » North Atlantic Ocean
• Greenland » between North Atlantic and Arctic oceans
• French Guiana » South America
• French Polynesia » South Pacific Ocean
• Guadeloupe » Caribbean Sea
• Martinique » Caribbean Sea
• Mayotte » Indian Ocean
• New Caledonia » South Pacific Ocean
• Réunion » Indian Ocean
• Saint Barthélemy » Caribbean Sea
• Saint Martin » Caribbean Sea
• Saint Pierre and Miquelon » next to Newfoundland
• Wallis and Futuna » South Pacific Ocean
• Bonaire » Caribbean Sea
• Saba » Caribbean Sea
• Sint Eustatius » Caribbean Sea
• Azores » North Atlantic Ocean
• Madeira » North Atlantic Ocean
• Canary Islands » North Atlantic Ocean
• Ceuta » Africa
• Melilla » Africa
United Kingdom
• Ascension Island » South Atlantic Ocean
• Akrotiri and Dhekelia » Cyprus
• Bermuda » North Atlantic Ocean
• British Antarctic Territory
• British Indian Ocean Territory
• Falkland Islands » South Atlantic Ocean
• Gibraltar » attached to Spain
• Guernsey » English Channel
• Isle of Man » Irish Sea
• Pitcairn Islands » South Pacific Ocean
• Scotland » Great Britain
• Tristan da Cunha » South Atlantic Ocean
• Wales » Great Britain
• Guam » North Pacific Ocean
• Northern Mariana Islands » North Pacific Ocean
• Puerto Rico » Caribbean Sea
• U.S. Virgin Islands » Caribbean Sea